Macbook Air 2012 Review


          So, after my aging Acer Aspire 5532 was giving me headaches of the problems I’ve had with it, most notably being lagginess, the battery failing, and the CD/DVD drive that failed and stopped working about 4 months into owning it, I decided it was time for me to purchase a new laptop, and one that will give me several years of use, and also something to use for college in the next year or two that will give me good performance and good portability to match. I’ve always personally been a fan of Apple’s MacBook line, to the point I tried setting up Hackintosh on my Acer (to no avail), and thus I concluded to purchase a refurbished MacBook Air 13″ 2012 core i5 model, with 128GB of flash storage and 4GB of ram and running OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), which the refurbished cost will be $1,058 and some change with the tax included (it actually shipped with 8GB of ram, which I am not complaining about in the least bit at all.) To be honest, I was a little weary about purchasing the MacBook Air to use as my main laptop throughout the next couple years, because frankly I didn’t know what to expect. But, I’ll be straight up front: It was the best purchase I have ever made on a computer. I’m only on my second day into using the MacBook, and it has surpassed my expectations already. It’s main perk is the slimness of the machine, which is just absolutely incredible how Apple (and other respective computer makers out there with ultrabooks) can make such a thin and light, yet fully capable laptop. It has such a snappy, fluid response to all the tasks I do on it, which ranges from surfing the internet, editing a few photos in PixelMator (best budget brand alternative for Photoshop I have ever came across), writing a story in Pages (Apple’s version of Microsoft Word), and the occasional Skype call or two. I also set up Windows 7 in a virtual machine so if I ever need to switch over to Windows, I can do it with just the flick of a few fingers and I’m instantly over in Windows, able to do what I need to. For someone willing to spend a little extra on a laptop that is going to last you several years, as well as portability and fluidity, the MacBook Air is the way to go. Apple does also offer an 11″ model for those wanting even more portability. Just a note for all: The MacBook Air line does NOT have a CD/DVD drive. If you’re someone such as myself who rarely uses CD’s to begin with, then it honestly shouldn’t be much of a problem at all. If you do use them however yet still want to purchase the Air, you can simply pick up a cheap external USB or Thunderbolt CD/DVD drive and use it only when you need it. All in all, the MacBook Air is such a phenomenal machine for portability, fluidity, and basically getting the job done. If you are into gaming however, and still want to purchase a MacBook, I would actually recommend stepping up your consideration to a MacBook Pro, as the Air isn’t fully cut out for gaming quite yet.

Pros:

  • Ultra-portable
  • Very snappy
  • No hiccups or lags (with the exception of intense games)
  • Easy to pick up on

Cons:

The only con I have for this laptop, is like I’ve mentioned, some more CPU and Graphics-intense games that tend to lag and hiccup here and there, and make the fans kick on. Other than that, I hardly ever hear the fans kick up and it stays insanely quiet, even during a near all day’s use.

Leave a Reply

