HTC Desire Z Rom Review – Sensei (Ice Cream Sandwich, Sense 4.0a)


I know I’ve done somewhat of a video review for certain HTC Vision ROMs in the past, but I’m going to cover them more in depth on my blog now for those wishing for a full, or near full, review from my personal experiences. Currently, Sensei by CoolOS over on xda has to be one of my favorite custom ROMs for the Vision, hands down. It’s current release at the time of this writing is 1.3.0. I’ve been running it a lot lately instead of my usual G2Slim or Desire Gingerbread Sense, which both are Gingerbread 2.3.x. It isn’t 100% full Sense, in the aspect that it’s a Lite version of Sense. Whenever you flash the ROM in either ClockworkMod, TWRP or 4ext recovery, whichever you have installed on your device, you get the Aroma Installer, which lets you pick what options that you want to install. There’s quite a bit to cover, so I won’t include all of them, but I’ll go ahead and start on the main ones that are the most important. The first option that I really like is the choice between different Kernels to run in the background. I’ve messed around with all of them, and the one that in my opinion runs the smoothest is the one that’s already checked in the installer when you get to choose. Onwards to the other ones that I like. You can chose between if you want the Sense 4.0 interface and icons, or the Sense 5 icons. You also have minor aesthetic choices, such as blue or green system-wide theming, a Jellybean or Ice Cream Sandwich status bar interface, picking what apps you want installed and the ones you don’t want, including some HTC applications, and just a slew of other choices that really are quite wonderful.

Onwards to performance and usability. The performance of this is absolutely phenomenal. CoolOS does probably some of the best jobs when it comes to practically all of his ROMs that he has created/modified/etc. The only hiccups that I have noticed is early on when the apps auto-update (you can turn that off in the Play Store settings.). It gets a little laggy, but afterwards it performs wonderfully. Honestly, it’s hard to believe that this old Desire Z/T-Mobile G2 can have a more up to date version of Android that performs this smoothly and have such wonderful performance. I would highly recommend this as a daily driver for those wanting the Sense UI on a more current version of Android. Below is the link to the thread, thank you for reading and have a wonderful day!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2526829

Leave a Reply

